Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Between two majors

The new semester will start soon and it'll be my last before I start with my major but as of right now, I am torn between the only two choices offered. First, there's Computer Science, where they primarily emphasize on programming languages, coding and what not. Basically, it's hardcore programming, or something like that.

Then there's Information Technology. It's been said to be one of the easiest subjects, possibly because there's plenty of reading subjects (i.e. Database Systems II, E-Commerce). Basically it covers topics on database, database management, operating systems and so forth. Sounds easier, quite likely and more general compared to CS. Mother said that databases are the uhm.. in thing (I don't know what the other word for it), that the expertise is in demand now, and the likes. Plus, I heard it's easier to climb up the organization ladder if you're a DBA (or something equivalent), because you work with people more than you work with the computer; trying to squeeze your brains out fixing bugs and coming up with new programs and such.

Subjects like Web Programming and Computer Architecture and Assembly Language sounds fun although the latter seems to be a wee bit scary (assembly language ahhh T__T) while Database Systems II and Management Information Systems sounds dry. Huhuhu banyak songeh kan.

Quite a puzzle really, although I know that some of you folks would go "Alaaa, IT senang je", just because you're taking engineering or law or medicine even, personally I think it's pathetic. Fine, it is easier, no doubt, than your genetic engineering subject or those bio-molecular whatever you have to study but please, you don't have to belittle us just to boost your ego. I realize that the job scope is not all that fabulous as opposed to your future 'Engineer' or 'Doctor' title but to hell with you lah. So you're good and all that so just be happy and don't patronize others lah, okay? Ala tok sah deny I know you've said it before.

So what's the verdict? At the moment, I am not too sure. I plan on doing CS lah, but...entah lah. Do I really want to do programming je? Or do I want to read and read and learn about how to manage things? I mean, really? Sigh. Maybe I should just do both je la hahaha but then leceh la buat double major nanti I'll be stuck in UIA longer than any of my coursemates aih tu yang tak best although it sounds mighty awesome jugak lah kan. Lagi lagi kalau dapat Honours haaa so nais.

Haih all this worrying kang tibe tibe tak dapat amik CS sebab results ICO teruk, which I am expecting, in a way (bad as in not even A-/B+ lah) since my carry marks are really poor and I doubt that the finals could save me (ps. I must score at least a B in four chosen subjects to get into CS, in which two I have scored an A-, one I have yet to find out and another I will take this coming semester). Haaa stress. I've got to work hard on my counting skills or I will suffer studying Calculus all over again. Boo.

I'd like to keep my options open, although there's only two to choose from, but still. I still have around three months to think it through and hopefully by then, everything will fall into place.

2 comments: