Hello people, I'm home!
After four days of ta'aruf I am now sitting comfortably with the air-cond on, and with that I also have with some interesting news but where do I start? So many things have happened, both good and bad, and I am eager to tell you my first hand experiences :) I have four days of stories (is that phrased correctly?) to share with the world, if not my friends and readers.
Things started off pretty well, with me getting acquainted with my new room and the surroundings. We had a couple of briefing sessions which included about the campus and what not. During the question and answer session concerning the mahallahs, five international students went up and asked questions; total confrontations. They complained that the water is too cold, that there is no hot water and that the boys' mahallahs are too small and that they have no privacy as they have to share it with other people. We cheered for their boldness but find their complaints rather annoying as it seems, they are pretty fussy and annoying too, such a handful lot. What was more interesting was how the guy/ representative (speaker/brother whatever you may call it) refuted their laments with such ease and confidence that kept their mouth shut.
We went back to our respective mahallahs at midnight and slept for about two hours before the committee came and woke us up for Subuh prayers. Thing is, Subuh is at six in the morning but there we were strolling - a delicate way to put it - at four thirty in the with groggy eyes and heavy backpacks on our backs, that are filled with tomorrow's attire and necessities.
I slept throughout the first two talks/briefings, jotted a few things in my little Damask notebook and dozed off again. We were all tired and bored with the speakers as most of them did not speak clearly and/or fluently and we were just worn out to lend our ears to them. Later after Zuhur, we were grouped and taken to our respective Kulliyahs. I find Dr. Ahmed M. Zeki's briefing about Computer Science highly captivating, I am sure that I want to major in CS. The only slight catch is that I have to score a minimum grade B in four chosen subjects to major in Computer Science, in which two of the subjects are Discrete Mathematics and Calculus I. Computer Science is all about Math and Programming and I'd have to do extremely well to get a spot in that subject. I was slightly intimidated by it but I am up for the challenge, and if I change my mind later, I would still have my options open and I'd like that.
After the talk, we had to take a Fundamental Knowlegde Test (FKT) which is probably equivalent to Fardhu 'Ain and then headed back for dinner. We spent a few more hours in the Main Auditorium soon after and later retired to the moosq (moose-q). Pardon me, I meant to say/write MOSQUE but that was purposely written that way, everything has a story to it. You see, among the things that we, or I find amusing was the committees' pronunciation. At first we thought it was only a minor mistake made by the sister in charge but to our surprise, most of the committee members pronounce it that way. There were many other grammatical errors throughout the whole ta'aruf and I took the liberty of jotting them down when we heard it hehehehe. Mira and I call it Grammar Mammar LOL.
These were among the very BEST:
you can asking...
we will blocking you...
I appreciately wants...
RISE your hands... (LMAO)
paus... (which turned out to be PAUSE LOL!)
anddddd....wait for it...
MOOSQ... suppose you a combo of MOOSE only that it's ended with a Q at the back (which turned out to be MOSQUE)
And even after the boys laughed and corrected them, they still continued to pronounce it like that. One would think that they would know it by now. That aside, I was pretty agitated by the committee as they refused to let us buy food with the reason that they have provided food for us. The thing is, breakfast is at seven, lunch at one while dinner is at six thirty. Six thirty I tell you! I have nothing against early dinners but that's just not how I function. Knowing myself, I would probably go hungry again after nine! The agony. And to give me the cheek! To be so rude to us all when we asked them ever so politely to take some cash from ATM, to take our keys in our bags AND THEY STILL LOOK AT US IN DISGUST. If they feel disgusted by us then why bother taking part in such event!? Bodoh.
Anywaaaay, back to the main plot, while at the mosque, I listened to a tazkirah by some foreigner and though his speech was simple and direct, I find it to be a pang in the face. It only made me want this even more. And so, we slept in the mosque that night and woke up at four the morning after, shivering while feebly attempting to warm ourselves up - we had qiamullail, that was why we brought our stuff along. Most of us did not take our shower as it was darn cold that morning but I took mine :)) Later on that day, I slept all the way through lunch and was miserable throughout the whole day due to lack of sleep. We were released in the evening to freshen up and went back to the venue for some other activities.
Fast forward, as soon as I got back to my room later that night I fell asleep and missed Subuh with the troop. Luckily, I didn't get into trouble and made it in time for the Bai'ah Ceremony. Fast forward about three four hours and we went back to our mahallahs and had dinner, this time, on our own. I had Mc Donald's again, my third this week. After dinner, we headed back to the Main Auditorium for one last time for the cultural event.
And the rest is now.
Gombak is awesome. I have yet to find out what it has in store me, but so far, I'm liking every bit except for one. I've been such a miserable wreck these past two days because I have no one here with me, no walking partner. Talk about having a lot of friends, I know. They're all just acquaintances, my real friends are all away, and even though I'm with them I still feel like a misfit. Afi is away in her Kunatan while Wawi is still in Pj, but there's not much difference as she'll be joining Afi in Kuantan next year, leaving me to fend for myself. I am mad at myself for even thinking about these petty things when I ought not to. I'm breaking my own rule. I should never borrow things and I should never rely too much on people, these things should not be taken seriously because people just don't care.
I admit, I miss you people. Not just Zhaf, Alan, Afi and Wawi but the whole mob, ELC people and such. I miss you people.
As for Shafiq, he will be joining me on Monday. HURRAYSSSS !!!!! In a twist of fate, he got a second chance and voila, he's IN! Yaaaaaaays. I am happy for him. I am not expecting much this semester, where the relationship is concerned - meaning I don't expect to see him all the time as I'm pretty sure our timetables will keep us busy with school work. But that's okay, I know we will always have each other, so yeah. Positive thinking right there.
New semester, new adventures. Everything will be just fine.